Me a Lineman for the County?

September 12, 2007

Friday . . . Odd. Went to meet a former co-worker who is moving on with his life. I pulled up twice to the Kierland Starbucks. Kierland StarbucksTwice because apparently ‘important’ people cannot take the time to park correctly. Even though it was 11:00am I found the cafe packed. I began with the word “Odd” because the restaurant next door was founded by and still contains the initials of a former client of mine. The convertible sports car proudly parked in front of the business and sporting a temporary paper permit, was one of the three designed by my nephew.

Inside the Barnes & Noble Starbucks at Kierland, I cannot believe how humid it is. My six packets of Sweet & Low, grasped between my thumb and forefingers that I normally use to raise my coffee to the sweetness level of a grapefruit, only reluctantly released their powder.

Being my former co-worker was now a county employee, our ‘lunchtime’ meeting lasted almost three hours. He said I should get a job with the county.